Thursday, June 30, 2011

hiring etiquette

I know people are busy, but I wish more places would reply to a resume/application and at least let me know I didn't get the job. I hate having things up in the air.

Thursday, June 23, 2011

the hangover cry

I'm not sure if you know this about me, but I cry a lot. Mostly, I cry at entertainment (movies, songs, tv shows, etc.) and sports (I straight up sobbed when the Giants won the Super Bowl), but sometimes real life stuff gets me choked up.

For some reason, being hungover makes me 3x as susceptible to tears. I think my body is too busy helping my liver clean shit up to worry about a few tears.

Without further ado, here are some of my favorite "hangover cry" highlights:

+Once, I cried at an episode of Tough Love. Yup, that's right, the show where the host (a guy who is way too close to his mother, by the way) gives advice to "undateable" women. Most episodes are ridiculous and demeaning, but there is one where one of the women writes a beautiful and moving letter to one of the other contestants. They used to hate each other and then they became friends! Come on, that is emotional.

+The other week, Steph and I were laying in bed, having just woken up. Apropos of nothing, I exclaimed, "Steph, what if there is no NFL season this year because of the lock out!" and started to cry. I actually think I was still drunk for that one.

+Literally any time I watch Outside the Lines on ESPN. Example: this heart wrenching story. If you don't cry at that, you probably have no soul.

+Way too many sappy rom coms. Usually, my hangover game plan consists of sitting on the couch, drinking as many different types of beverages as possible (juice, tea, flavored water, choco milk, soda, etc.) and eating approximately every 45 minutes. This usually means I end up watching movies on TV that I would normally not watch. Then, I cry at 27 Dresses or some equally shitty movie. Then, I am ashamed.

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

bahaha

On a whim, I went to whatamidoingwithmylife.com, because, well, WHAT AM I DOING WITH MY LIFE? It exists! Fantastic. That is great to know for future reference.

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

french press

If you know me, you probably know how I feel about coffee. Phew, I'm hot just thinking about it.

Anyway, ::fans self off:: I've realized today that having too much time on my hands isn't all bad. Now, I'm able to indulge in delicious french press coffee in the morning. Pressing coffee is one of those things I always tell myself that I'm going to take the time to do everyday, but inevitably end up running 7 minutes late (no, seriously, almost every morning I wish I had exactly 7 more minutes).

Now, if you'll please excuse me, I'm going to go enjoy my Costa Rican coffee in my PANTONE (3025 C, if anyone is a nerd and wondering) mug.

Monday, June 13, 2011

unemployment.

Holy shit, I'm done with City Year (that is a blog post for another day...).

I'm unemployed and absolutely terrified.

Being an adult is stupid. I quit.