Thursday, June 23, 2011

the hangover cry

I'm not sure if you know this about me, but I cry a lot. Mostly, I cry at entertainment (movies, songs, tv shows, etc.) and sports (I straight up sobbed when the Giants won the Super Bowl), but sometimes real life stuff gets me choked up.

For some reason, being hungover makes me 3x as susceptible to tears. I think my body is too busy helping my liver clean shit up to worry about a few tears.

Without further ado, here are some of my favorite "hangover cry" highlights:

+Once, I cried at an episode of Tough Love. Yup, that's right, the show where the host (a guy who is way too close to his mother, by the way) gives advice to "undateable" women. Most episodes are ridiculous and demeaning, but there is one where one of the women writes a beautiful and moving letter to one of the other contestants. They used to hate each other and then they became friends! Come on, that is emotional.

+The other week, Steph and I were laying in bed, having just woken up. Apropos of nothing, I exclaimed, "Steph, what if there is no NFL season this year because of the lock out!" and started to cry. I actually think I was still drunk for that one.

+Literally any time I watch Outside the Lines on ESPN. Example: this heart wrenching story. If you don't cry at that, you probably have no soul.

+Way too many sappy rom coms. Usually, my hangover game plan consists of sitting on the couch, drinking as many different types of beverages as possible (juice, tea, flavored water, choco milk, soda, etc.) and eating approximately every 45 minutes. This usually means I end up watching movies on TV that I would normally not watch. Then, I cry at 27 Dresses or some equally shitty movie. Then, I am ashamed.

No comments:

Post a Comment